Disney · Disneyland Paris

Bistrot Chez Remy: So close to perfection.

“In many ways, the work of a critic is easy. We risk very little, yet enjoy a position over those who offer up their work and their selves to our judgment. We thrive on negative criticism, which is fun to write and to read. But the bitter truth we critics must face, is that in the grand scheme of things, the average piece of junk is probably more meaningful than our criticism designating it so. But there are times when a critic truly risks something, and that is in the discovery and defense of the new.” – Anton Ego. 

Upon entering the restaurant, I was delighted to see such beautiful theming. As Ratatouille is my favourite Pixar film, I was pleased to see so many references to the film, whilst feeling the same size as Remy. We had reserved a table at 3pm and the restaurant was very quiet, which for me was very surprising – and as we had reserved we were seated immediately despite being 10 minutes early. Even though both my Partner and I really do not like salad, we found it to be quite tasty. However, the steak was beautiful and cooked exactly to my taste, with me wanting more of the accompanying sauce. For desert, I had a mousse, which was delicious, and had a mickey waffle! My partner had a chocolate cake with crème anglaise – which was also delicious. From this I would recommend Bistrot Chez Remy, and I will be visiting for my Birthday meal, hungry for more!

Despite having such a fantastic experience, I would change many areas for the restaurant. Most of them are in regards to the limited variety on the menu. After watching the film numerous times, I would love for more references back to the film.

As my initial thoughts are to change the starter of the menu, or even have some additions, I would love to see either mushrooms or soup as a starter. In the beginning of the film, Remy and Emile find a mushroom, which they cook. I think this would be something very easy for the restaurant to add to the menu, some smoky flavoured mushrooms. Accompanied with a sauce, I am sure they would taste beautiful.

The one thing I am gutted that is not on the menu, is a soup. The soup in ratatouille is a pivotal point, as this is what brings Linguini and Remy together. So surely, it could have been put on the menu. Also, I am sure that this would be delicious, no matter what choice of soup they added.

Thinking once again of the starter, a small omelette would have been a nice choice. Once again, this is one of Remy’s first creations, and would be a great little film piece to add to the restaurant.

Moving onto the main, I would have liked a ‘Special Order’ or even have an option to have this. Similarly, to the soup this is one of the first things that Remy makes and brings him great success. In the film, it was referred to ‘sweet a’la Gusteau’. I am not sure what food option they would bring in as the special order. I just think it would be a lovely nod to the film.

I was most disappointed about, when I went to Bistrot Chez Remy, was the Ratatouille. Even though this is provided with the food, I would have really liked it to be in a stack, in the same way as the film. Personally, I think it is something that people will expect when they visit the restaurant, as it is a staple of the film.

In my Disney Opinion, I think that if these additions were implemented Bistrot Chez Remy would be an excellent restaurant – which would be value for money!

Have you visited Bistrot Chez Remy before? If not, why haven’t you? And if you have what did you think about the restaurant?

 

Let us know by leaving a comment below or sending us a message on Twitter @ejh92x

New signature

CYA LATER ALLIGATORS!

 

 

(Image Copyright: Images all found on Google. )

3 thoughts on “Bistrot Chez Remy: So close to perfection.

  1. Personally what was missing for me was an option for a photo with the rats and linguini, even if it was in a seperate section after/before the meal rather than in a cafe Mickey fashion. If they give you the option to buy it in a nice Frame like princess pavilion I’m sure it would be popular!

    Like

Leave a Reply

