Lifestyle

Mental Health Awareness Week: My Story

It is coming to the end of this years Mental Health Awareness Week (16th May – 22nd May 2016) and I have finally had the courage to write about my own story.

As many of you know, I have Anxiety. I only recently found out that it was this in my Second Year of University, after I met with one of their Councillors. I always knew that there was something ‘different’ about me, but I thought it was just me worrying about things. I never thought that I worried about things more than other people, I just thought that it was normal to be feel afraid of near enough every situation.

I also thought that many people felt upset about things. I never really thought that I was feeling extremely  upset about things, compared to other people. I never thought that I would have Depression!

But alas I do. These are two of my little ‘Gremlins’ that make my life a little bit more difficult. Sometimes they make me not want to get up in the morning, or make me fearful of every event. I do let them control me at times, but I am trying to not let them control me as they used to.

I am finally brave enough to accept that I am different. I am finally strong enough to live with these demons. I am smart enough not to let them control me.

It is difficult, do not get me wrong. But slowly, things do get better. I am not fully okay, but who actually is? The one thing that is important though, is if we all share our stories and help one another to fight our own personal battles, and the stigmatism of Mental Health.

 

CYA LATER ALLIGATORS!

New signature

 

One thought on “Mental Health Awareness Week: My Story

  1. I am so proud of you for writing this. You’re completely right nobody is perfect and it’s only when people share their stories (like you have) then people will start to understand this. After moving to Manchester and living alone I found out that I have anxiety, I was in completely shock and denial as if it wasn’t a big deal. It was only when I acknowledged it and spoke to my boyfriend about it I realised it was real but there are also ways I can help!

    I’m sending you a big hug!

    Hannah xx

    http://hannahelizabethblg.blogspot.co.uk/

    Like

Leave a Reply

